World Super Enduro Results

Blazusiak wins SuperEnduro World Championship






KTM’s Taddy Blazusiak has won the 2013 FIM SuperEnduro World Championship claiming a one-two-three result at the third and final round of the series held in Tours, France. Starting the event with a comfortable points lead in the SuperEnduro series, Taddy put the finishing touches to what has been a hugely successful championship campaign by securing a third overall event win.

With his focus on securing the championship, Taddy made the best possible start to the night by winning the first of the three finals. Britain’s Jonny Walker lead the race for the first four laps, but once into the lead Taddy remained out front and took the win, finishing five seconds ahead of David Knight.

The reverse start of the second final resulted in Blazusiak being forced to battle his way into the top three. With Spain’s Dani Gibert taking the lead from the start, Taddy closed to within three seconds of the eventual race winner. In placing as runner-up Taddy did all that he needed to do to successfully defend his SuperEnduro World Championship title.

With the world championship secured Taddy looked to be headed for his second win of the night in the third and closing final. Claiming the holeshot and remaining in the lead during the opening laps Taddy was followed by Knight and Walker. But an uncharacteristic mistake in the difficult rock garden saw him drop back to third, and with only a handful of laps remaining was unable to work his way back past the riders ahead of him.

Taddy Blazusiak: “Coming into the championship with a 29-point lead I knew what I needed to do to secure the title. In the first final I managed to get into the lead on lap four and controlled things from there to take the win. With that victory I knew it would be possible to secure the title in the second heat. But with the start order reversed I also knew it wouldn’t be easy. Starting on the outside of the second row I got blocked off entering the first corner so I decided to be patient in my riding. From last place I was able to move up a couple of positions on the first lap and then keep working forward. Once I got to second position I rode smart to secure the title. When I was leading the third final I crashed in the rocks and slipped back. I recovered well to finish third and with it also claim the overall win on the night. Winning the championship along with topping each round of the series is fantastic, and I can’t ask for anything more.”

Jonny Walker: “I always knew it would be tough to get the runner-up spot in the championship, so I was focused on making sure I got third – anything better would have been a bonus. The track was great, but a lot different to Barcelona. There was so much grip and you could really attack the track. It took a while to get my bike dialled in, but once we did it was awesome. I really enjoyed the racing. I’m pleased with the way I rode, I just had a few small things not go my way in the second final. I got a great start in the first race and took the holeshot. I stayed out front for four laps and felt good until I got arm pump. I had to settle for third. I got quite a good start in the second race but clipped a rider in the first corner and my start device got stuck down. I couldn’t jump anything for a couple of laps and lost some places. I got taken out later on in the race and my result in the second final kept me off the event’s overall podium. But the third final went well. I stuck with David the whole race and when Taddy made a mistake I moved into second, which is a good result to finish the championship with. I feel like I’ve improved during the series and I know I have the speed to win now. Finishing behind two of the greatest indoor enduro riders isn’t a bad result. It’s been a good series, I’m really looking forward to next year’s longer championship.”

Final 1

Taddy Blazusiak (KTM) 8.20:837; 2. David Knight (Honda) 8.25:396; 3. Jonny Walker (KTM) 8.35:140…

 Final 2

Dani Gibert (Husaberg) 8.31:769; 2. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM) 8.35:522; 3. Alfredo Gomez (Husaberg) 8.46:019…

 Final 3

1. David Knight (Honda) 8.23:046; 2. Jonny Walker (KTM) 8.28:934; 3. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM) 8.33:759…

 Championship Standings – SuperEnduro 2013

1. Taddy Blazusiak (KTM) 162; 2. David Knight (KTM) 130; 3. Jonny Walker (KTM) 119…



Filed Under: FeaturedGone Racing

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Comments are closed.